Being named a Fellow of a professional society is an honor bestowed on individuals who represent the best of a profession.

To be considered for as a fellow, one must go through a detailed application or nomination process and meet certain requirements. A nominee must have had an established career; typically at least ten years of professional experience past their terminal (highest) degree. The nominee must also be a member of the society and continue their membership after being selected.

Various CEOHP interviewees are recognized as fellows in the following organizations:

  • ACM Fellows: ACM’s most prestigious member grade recognizes the top 1% of ACM members for their outstanding accomplishments in computing and information technology and/or outstanding service to ACM and the larger computing community. Candidates for Fellow must have at least 5 years of Professional Membership within the last 10 years.
  • IEEE Fellows: A distinction reserved for select IEEE members whose extraordinary accomplishments in any of the IEEE fields of interest are deemed fitting of this prestigious grade elevation.
  • AAAS Fellows: A distinguished cadre of scientists, engineers and innovators who have been recognized for their achievements across disciplines, from research, teaching, and technology, to administration in academia, industry and government, to excellence in communicating and interpreting science to the public
  • IBM Fellows: The company’s pre-eminent technical distinction, granted in recognition of outstanding and sustained technical achievements and leadership in engineering, programming, services, science, design and technology.

  • Mark Weiss interview: Overview
    Overview page for CEOHP interview with Mark Weiss, cited for authoring textbooks that have had a profound impact on generations of students and for invaluable service to the computer science education community.
  • Hal Abelson Interview: Overview
    Overview page for the CEOHP interview with Hal Abelson, professor at MIT and a founding director of Creative Commons.
  • Matthias Felleisen interview: Overview
    Overview page for CEOHP interview with Matthias Felleisen, cited for creating a design-focused introductory curriculum and for educational outreach programs for pre-college students.
  • Fran Allen interview: Overview
    Overview page for CEOHP interview with Fran Allen, first female IBM Fellow and first woman to win the Turing Award (for her seminal work in compiler optimization).
  • Tracy Camp interview: Overview
    Overview page for CEOHP interview with Tracy Camp, a full professor at Colorado School of Mines, Founder and an ACM Fellow for her contributions in wireless networking and leadership in broadening participation in computing.